Reviews

To read reviews or to leave a review of a recently visited hostel, please select the hostel below:


Recent Reviews

Really well kitted out and fantastic setting

Reviewed on September 9, 2019

A brilliant place to stay! The bunkhouse is really well equipped with a full kitchen (oven, hob, microwave, washing machine, etc) and the space is lovely. As for location, the Isle of Muck is fantastic for anyone who loves to explore, but do also get involved in their community activities. If you're unsure about Muck do just go for it, Georgia is super helpful if you need anything and everyone is friendly. And the bunkhouse is just the perfect place to stay :)

Stayed August 2019

Cosy & clean bunkhouse with wonderful facilities and helpful host.

Reviewed on September 8, 2019

The cowshed is a cozy and homely hostel with a very hospitable host. We stayed here on our way up to Quiraing the next day, and were pleasantly surprised by the amenities. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well furnished with a locked cupboard for each occupant. Common area was large, clean and cozy, and provided cooking areas with cooking equipment as well. The host was a very friendly lady who even helped us after we had left. On the day after our stay, we had trouble finding an apartment and when we called, she offered us help and alternatives as well.

Stayed September 2019

Nice bed, private bathroom, free towels.

Reviewed on September 1, 2019

You get a nice bed and private bathroom for 20 pounds and free towels. Space to hang your clothes and put your stuff. Also free: dishwasher, washingmachine, dryer. Nice big livingroom with comfortable sittings and tv. And: the owner is not constantly checking on you. Across the street is a bar with fish&chips and nearby a shop where you also can get cash and a free bike. And: it’s only 100 meters from the ferry.

Stayed July 2019

First time visitor really pleased

Reviewed on August 16, 2019

We were given a very warm welcome and the facilities were first class. Would have no hesitation in recommending The Poor House to anyone.

Stayed July 2019

Top stay

Reviewed on August 16, 2019

Really nice location very « like home » and british cosy way of life .

Stayed August 2019

Amazing Ambiance.

Reviewed on July 2, 2019

I loved the bunk house. Very clean, good beds, well equipped kitchen, good bathrooms. Set up well for bikers. The scenery is lovely. Hosts are fabulous.

Stayed May 2019

Reviewed on June 9, 2019

Really enjoyed stay here. Modern and generally very well thought out.

Stayed June 2019

Fantastic Value accomodation and great manager

Reviewed on May 7, 2019

From the moment I walked through the door I loved this place. Marie the Manager is very friendly accommodating and understanding of anyone from anywhere. She’s very knowledgeable and has plenty of good recommendations if you’re interested. Newly refurbished this old school gymnasium is very clean and has modern dorms with ensuite bathroom and showers in addition to a new kitchen (no oven) and log burning stove to keep you nice and toasty warm. An extremely effective drying cupboard for drying out your clothes if the weather is poor. Outside is the secure bike store, washing line and a bench for chilling out and taking in the seaside air. I will definitely come again thank you again Marie for being so lovely. Craig

Stayed May 2019

Excellent value for money!

Reviewed on May 5, 2019

My husband and I got a private room for both nights of our haggis adventures tour around the northern parts of Scotland. We were extremely impressed with all of the amenities available. The dinner and breakfast there is also amazing - good value for money. (Excellent spot to try some Haggis)...

Stayed April 2019

I nice hostel in a wonderful location

Reviewed on May 5, 2019

I would certainly recommend this hostel to friends. The rooms were big enough for 6 people to stay in.

Stayed April 2019