Reviews

To read reviews or to leave a review of a recently visited hostel, please select the hostel below:


Recent Reviews

Excellent Hostel

Reviewed on October 11, 2020

Very much enjoyed my stay at Morag’s Lodge. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The location was stunning and within easy reach of the centre of Fort Augusta. The en suit room was spacious and typical of a hostel, the bunk beds quite comfortable. The curry evening meal was fine, as was the packed lunch. Breakfast was let down by the barm cake that was quite dry. Overall excellent place to stay.

Stayed October 2020

Alles in allem top

Reviewed on September 30, 2020

Das Zimmer und das Bad waren absolut in Ordnung, ein ganz normales Hostel eben. Die Hotelbar ist super gemütlich eingerichtet und der Holzofen wärmt schön. Da der Preis allein vom Zimmer und nicht von der Personenanzahl abhängig ist, finde ich es etwas teuer für eine Person. Das liegt aber natürlich auch daran, dass ich alleine gereist bin. Supermarkt ist nur 5 Minuten entfernt. Sehr nettes Personal!

Stayed September 2020

Morag's Lodge

Reviewed on September 28, 2020

Stopped over in Fort Augustus for one night while on a cycling tour. Arrived to a warm welcome and a straight forward check in procedure. En-suite room was clean, spacious (COVID restrictions meant that I had a 4 bed room to myself) and comfortable with views over the lawn. Staff recommended several places in town to eat, all within a short walk. Breakfast the following morning comprised fruit juice, cereal bar, fruit and a bacon roll; sufficient to set me up for a morning of cycling. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed September 2020

Excellent

Reviewed on September 27, 2020

A good facility in a great location, topped off by a host for whom nothing is to much trouble. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2020

Great Hostel

Reviewed on September 9, 2020

We stayed at Morag's Lodge on night one of Mountain Biking the Great Glen Way. Expected a bed, a shower and some food but got a whole lot more. Morag's Lodge is welcoming, warm, clean and just has a really nice feel about it. Paul, who met us on arrival was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area and the Great Glen Way. We had dinner in the bar at the Hostel. Bar was great and created a wee bit of atmosphere that can be really lacking in these Covid times. WE got a great big plateful of food which was just what was needed. Room was comfortable and shower was great. With a secure bike store and loads of big comfy arm chairs i think Morag's has a winning formula. I would stay again for sure.

Stayed September 2020

Great location

Reviewed on August 24, 2020

Very enjoyable stay. Quiet location but close to amenities. Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Good bar. Would use again.

Stayed August 2020

Perfect !

Reviewed on August 23, 2020

Staff and Best quality hostel ! Wish we have stayed longer and a perfect place with kids !!

Stayed August 2020


Hostel response:

Thank you so much for your awesome review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to provide accommodation to a wide variety of guests, including families with children. We hope you have a good onward journey, and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future :0)

Even COVID-19 couldn't ruin a stay here!

Reviewed on August 17, 2020

I stayed here for 3 nights with a group of 3 friends at the end of July this year during what must be very tricky circumstances for the hospitality industry. Apart from reducing the overall atmosphere of what I guess would be a bustling hostel at normal times, even a pandemic couldn't bring down our overall review of the hostel. The staff went out of their way to assist, the meals on offer were limited but delicious, the bar was open and we couldn't have asked for more. Thanks to all who served us during our stay. We will be back!

Stayed July 2020

Good place for a brief stay

Reviewed on August 16, 2020

We stayed for one night only as we were on our way to Isle of Skye. The staff were very friendly and the room was basic but clean. No isssues re cleanliness and there was disinfectant at the entrance in the hotel. However as the room is so basic it would be hard to stay longer there. Also quite pricey although everything else in the area was even more expensive

Stayed August 2020

Reviewed on August 9, 2020

Great place to stay, a little bit quiet because of covid-19 but great hostel all the same. We were given a private bunk bed room with a double bed since my partner and I were travelling together. We had clean towels provided, and had a nice stay!

Stayed July 2020