Reviews

To read reviews or to leave a review of a recently visited hostel, please select the hostel below:


Recent Reviews

Great place to stay

Reviewed on October 21, 2019

I was one of 7 booked in at very short note. Fantastic location. Warm, tidy, good facilities. Would certainly recommend. Would definitely come back.

Stayed October 2019

Loved it!

Reviewed on October 15, 2019

Great location, just off Great Glen Way. Welcoming receptionist. Clean and warm rooms with bathroom, large lounge and dining room. Overall a very nice place to stay with a relaxed atmosphere!

Stayed October 2019

Great brand new hostel

Reviewed on October 7, 2019

Orcades Hostel was really clean and confortable, the shared kitchen nice. We were alone in a 6 beds dorms, so it was really good conditions that are probably rare in summer, but for what we saw it was great ! It's a small walk to the bus travel center and the ferry terminal, about 10-15mn. But you have a bus stop 2mn away down on the main street that can take you to Stromness with the X1.

Stayed October 2019

Nice Hostel in the center of Stromness

Reviewed on October 7, 2019

The facilities of this hostel are great, very good kitchen, well equipped. Nice Lounge with a view. Bathroom at the lower floor was a bit simple, but clean and working. It is a 5mn walk to the travel center (bus stop and the ferry terminal).

Stayed October 2019

Very nice hostel

Reviewed on October 7, 2019

As alone in the hostel, we have been upgraded to a double room, which is slightly small but nice bedroom. Kitchen is very clean and very nice and well equipped, lounge is super cosy, with a view over the bay. Only tiny flaw is the location, it's not far from Pierowall, 15mn walking distance to the shop, but there is no sidewalk, and for the first 200m you are walking on the road (but there isn't a lot of car though).

Stayed October 2019

Reviewed on September 26, 2019

We spent with a group of 25 people 6 days in Abernethy Bunkhouses and it was a wonderful time. The "staff" Richard and Patricia are wonderful and so very helpful. They made our stay comfortable and enjoyous. We recommend the hostel without any restriction.

Stayed August 2019

Lovely wee stay!

Reviewed on September 23, 2019

We had a lovely 1 night stay. We hadn't booked and turned up around 7pm after a hard days cycling to thankfully find they had a spare twin room available- perfect for us! The bunkhouse is immaculate and has everything you need. Could imagine it having a great atmosphere when its busier as there's a lovely living area with a peat burning fire - very cosy! Great wet room shower, so powerful and warm! Beds were super comfy and it has a great bike shed to store bikes overnight. All in all a very short and very sweet stay! If we are ever in the area again (highly likely) we will be staying again! Thanks again, Joanne and Steven

Stayed September 2019


Hostel response:

Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you back soon.

Really well kitted out and fantastic setting

Reviewed on September 9, 2019

A brilliant place to stay! The bunkhouse is really well equipped with a full kitchen (oven, hob, microwave, washing machine, etc) and the space is lovely. As for location, the Isle of Muck is fantastic for anyone who loves to explore, but do also get involved in their community activities. If you're unsure about Muck do just go for it, Georgia is super helpful if you need anything and everyone is friendly. And the bunkhouse is just the perfect place to stay :)

Stayed August 2019

Cosy & clean bunkhouse with wonderful facilities and helpful host.

Reviewed on September 8, 2019

The cowshed is a cozy and homely hostel with a very hospitable host. We stayed here on our way up to Quiraing the next day, and were pleasantly surprised by the amenities. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well furnished with a locked cupboard for each occupant. Common area was large, clean and cozy, and provided cooking areas with cooking equipment as well. The host was a very friendly lady who even helped us after we had left. On the day after our stay, we had trouble finding an apartment and when we called, she offered us help and alternatives as well.

Stayed September 2019

Nice bed, private bathroom, free towels.

Reviewed on September 1, 2019

You get a nice bed and private bathroom for 20 pounds and free towels. Space to hang your clothes and put your stuff. Also free: dishwasher, washingmachine, dryer. Nice big livingroom with comfortable sittings and tv. And: the owner is not constantly checking on you. Across the street is a bar with fish&chips and nearby a shop where you also can get cash and a free bike. And: it’s only 100 meters from the ferry.

Stayed July 2019