Reviews

To read reviews or to leave a review of a recently visited hostel, please select the hostel below:


Recent Reviews

Great place to stay Lochness

Reviewed on October 15, 2021

Great place, nice and clean, friendly staff and nice and close to everything

Stayed October 2021

Great place to stay Lochness

Reviewed on October 15, 2021

Great place, nice and clean, friendly staff and nice and close to everything

Stayed October 2021

Reviewed on October 14, 2021

Staff were so welcoming and helpful. Excellent

Stayed October 2021

My remembrance to Morag's hostel

Reviewed on October 11, 2021

I come from the Netherlands. The last two years it was not possible to visit my beloved Scotland because of COVID19. Since 1997 I come to Scotland every year. What Scotland did to me was even equalized by Morag's lodge. It was like a warm bath. I felt home at the first minut. All i'm looking for in a youth hostel i found It is the most cosy and relaxing youth hostel i stayed in during all those years. I hope i may visit you again in future. All the best !:

Stayed September 2018

Morag’s Lodge

Reviewed on October 11, 2021

Great hostel, lovely breakfast and perfect for exploring the Great Glen Way

Stayed October 2021

A great hostel to stay in

Reviewed on October 10, 2021

Made to feel welcome. Rooms great with en suite facilities a real bonus

Stayed October 2021

Truly a wonderful experience

Reviewed on September 24, 2021

I enjoyed every bit of my stay at Morag's Lodge. The staff was exemplary and so were the accommodations. I highly recommend this to anyone looking to stay a night in the area, and will happily return.

Stayed September 2021

A Great find on our little road trip

Reviewed on September 22, 2021

A fantastiv hostel,great location and staff very helpful,We had a private room,facilities were great.The bar area was a lovely area and a bonus.

Stayed September 2021

Suprised !!

Reviewed on September 14, 2021

Absolutely beautiful. I have stayed in quite a few hostels, but this one was the best so far. Food was gorgeous. Homemade and very reasonable. Clean and friendly. It would be the type of place I would be willing to spend a few days there. Breakfast worth getting. Even provide a packed lunch if needed. Worth a stay if in Fort Augustus

Stayed September 2021

DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR DOG OWNERS

Reviewed on September 14, 2021

After a tiring day up Ben Nevis, we arrived at the accommodation only to be told that our dog (which we very explicitly said we had) was not expected and our dorm room which we had booked two beds in was not available to us unless we booked out the whole room! This particularly stung as no-one else was due to be in that room with us and was going to cost us twice the price we had budgeted for and so was not an option. The chap behind the desk was polite enough, but it was very clear they were not going to help us resolve our issue at all. I'm sure it's lovely if everything goes well, but you are likely to have a problem in which case you will be left with very little choice and probably nowhere to sleep. Would not recommend this hostel to anyone. We also got charged for the room even though we did not stay the night at this hostel. Absolutely appalled at lack of sympathy and significantly poorer.

Stayed September 2021


Hostel response:

Thank you for your review and taking the time to so diligently leave it on so many sites. You made your reservation through a third-party site and at no point did you contact us to inform us that you were bringing a dog. When you booked you received an email from us detailing our policy on having dogs in the dormitories. Obviously when you book a hostel it is not fair to have to share a room with a dog if you are allergic or have a phobia, so we ask customers bringing a dog to book all the beds in a shared dormitory or reserve one of our private ensuite rooms. This is clearly stated in the confirmation email you received. We are a dog-friendly business but also understand the need to look after every one of our guests be they accompanied by their pets or not.