Black Isle Hostel offers shared dormitory accommodation along with 14 private rooms above our craft beer bar.
Based in the heart of Inverness sits our hostel, Black Isle Hostel! Conveniently located a stone throw away from Inverness train and bus stations, our bright and unique hostel is not to be missed! We have 10 mixed dormitory rooms and 14 private rooms with beds from £25 and private rooms from £55. Our private rooms include single, twin, double and family rooms all of which are en-suite with towels provided. Our hostel offers two communal bathrooms, one for males and one for females with towels available to hire for £2. We also have a large comfortable lounge with a dining area and kitchen available for all guests to use during their stay. Our bunk beds have all you need built in to them, each coming with 2x USB sockets, a plug socket and even a reading light! Each bed also has an under-bed locker with padlocks available to hire from reception. We are also dog friendly within our private rooms or fully booked dormitories.
Our bar, Black Isle Bar, has proven to be a popular establishment offering a selection of 26 craft beers on draught and many many more in cans and bottles. Our brewery produces world class organic beers and we are able to showcase a large selection of these exclusively in our bar. The bar's kitchen is fitted with a wood fired pizza oven and our food is as organic as we can possibly source. We serve a unique selection of pizzas, salads and specials such as stews and soups.
We aim to bring a little of the Black Isle to Inverness and act as a base camp to the Black Isle itself! Tours of the brewery can be arranged all year round, for free! We hope to offer you a unique stay and our team look forward to welcoming you through the door.
From £25.00 per person per night
From £50.00 per person per night
From £60.00 per room per night
From £80.00 per room per night
We operate with peak season and off season rates.
After a tiring day up Ben Nevis, we arrived at the accommodation only to be told that our dog (which we very explicitly said we had) was not expected and our dorm room which we had booked two beds in was not available to us unless we booked out the whole room! This particularly stung as no-one else was due to be in that room with us and was going to cost us twice the price we had budgeted for and so was not an option. The chap behind the desk was polite enough, but it was very clear they were not going to help us resolve our issue at all. I'm sure it's lovely if everything goes well, but you are likely to have a problem in which case you will be left with very little choice and probably nowhere to sleep. Would not recommend this hostel to anyone. We also got charged for the room even though we did not stay the night at this hostel. Absolutely appalled at lack of sympathy and significantly poorer.
Stayed September 2021
Thank you for your review and taking the time to so diligently leave it on so many sites. You made your reservation through a third-party site and at no point did you contact us to inform us that you were bringing a dog. When you booked you received an email from us detailing our policy on having dogs in the dormitories. Obviously when you book a hostel it is not fair to have to share a room with a dog if you are allergic or have a phobia, so we ask customers bringing a dog to book all the beds in a shared dormitory or reserve one of our private ensuite rooms. This is clearly stated in the confirmation email you received. We are a dog-friendly business but also understand the need to look after every one of our guests be they accompanied by their pets or not.